Invest to Israel Report, July 2023

Summary

A total of 41 investment and acquisition projects occurred, with a total disclosed investment of approximately US$ 4.19 billion; among them, among them, there are 33 investment projects with a disclosed total amount approximately US$ 570 million.

Acquired Israeli companies include: Rookout, Biosight, Privatise, Imperva, Nuance Hearing, Syqe Medical, SCADAfence, and Tadiran Telecom.

Until July, the Israeli deals that China has invested in 2023 include: One Zero, Hexa, TinyTap, Optima Design Automation and NoTraffic.

In July 2023, Israel has a total of 33 investment projects.

Popular industries are concentrated in software, scientific engineering, healthcare, hardware, data analysis, artificial intelligence, information technology, manufacturing, biotechnology, and transportation.

Cross-border investments mainly come from the United States (15), Germany (2), Belgium (1), France (1), United Kingdom (1).

13 Israeli companies received investment from local.

It should be noted that some of the investment projects originated from multiple investors from different countries.

This article is based on publicly available market data at the time of publication.

Lsit of Investment Deals in July

NameIntroduction
eToroMulti-asset investment platform
FeelBetterHealthcare optimization platform
NeurotriggerA system to improve the functioning of facial nerve paralysis
TrustmiEnd-to-end payment security solution
NeoLogic (VLSI)Using Quasi-CMOS technology design VLSI
Adaptive ShieldSecurity posture management platform to help enterprises manage their SaaS stack
BrevelMicroalgae Alternative Protein Technologies
AgadoInteractive video platform
OshiFoodtech company specializing in plant-based seafood
Steakholder FoodsComplex cultured meat by using 3D printing tech
TerrificSocial e-commerce plateform
Elgan Pharma Ltd.Neonatology-focused company
SpeakLanguage-learning mobile app (database of accented English speech)
Mehadrin Tnuport ExportGrower of fruits and vegetables
BYND Cannasoft EnterprisesEnterprise software tools development company
EvogeneComputational biology company, Ag-Biotech trait development
BrainStorm Cell TherapeuticsBiotech company developing innovative autologous stem cell therapies
K HealthAI Healthcare Applications
Galmed PharmaceuticalsClinical stage drug development biopharmaceutical company for liver, metabolic and inflammatory
Predicta MedEarly detection and intervention of autoimmune diseases based on artificial intelligence
NitroFixNo carbon emissions, low-cost ammonia developer
VendictAI that masters security language
Re-Fresh GlobalSolutions for the circular economy in textiles
SavvyCybersecurity company
Eco Wave PowerEWP Eco wave energy devices
CyborgcareSmart wearable device
HyperGuest Ltd.Hotel technology platform
VBI VaccinesBiopharma tech companies scaling up vaccine protection
Ann-EducationA Saas e-reader
RoboDeckOutdoor deck cleaning robot
LemonadeAI digital insurance company
MunchSocial Media Saas Platform

List of M&A Deals in July

1. Rookout, Developer Cloud Native Debugging Platform

On July 31, 2023, observability and security platform Dynatrace announced plans to acquire observability startup Rookout. The transaction is expected to close by the end of September, and the transaction amount has not been disclosed.

Located in Tel Aviv, Israel, Rookout focuses on helping developers troubleshoot and debug code in production, enabling developers to quickly troubleshoot and debug running code in cloud-native applications hosted by Kubernetes (an open-source container cluster management system).

Developers are increasingly responsible for ensuring the quality and security of their code throughout the software lifecycle. Dynatrace believes that adding Rookout to the Dynatrace platform will provide developers with enhanced code-level observability of Kubernetes-managed production environments, which will also increase the interactivity and control of troubleshooting and debugging in production, greatly reducing the cost in pre-production environments. Replicate the need for issues and improve collaboration between development, IT, and security teams.

2. Biosight, Clinical-stage pharmaceutical company

On July 27, 2023, Ayala Pharmaceuticals, Inc. (OTCQX: ADXS) and clinical-stage pharmaceutical company Biosight announced that they have entered into a definitive merger agreement to merge via an all-stock transaction. The combined company will operate under the name Ayala Pharmaceuticals and will continue to trade on the OTCQX under Ayala's current ticker symbol ADXS.

The combined company will focus on advancing the oncology portfolio, with a primary focus on Ayala's AL102, a once-daily potent, selective, oral gamma secretase inhibitor (GSI), and Biosight's Aspacytarabine (BST-236).

Biosight is committed to developing innovative therapies for hematological malignancies and diseases, and its lead product, aspacytarabine (BST-236), is an innovative, proprietary antitimetabolite designed to address unmet medical needs by enabling high-dose chemotherapy y with reduced systemic toxicity.

Ayala Pharmaceuticals is a clinical-stage oncology company primarily focused on developing and commercializing small molecule therapeutics for patients with rare tumors and aggressive cancers, while also developing a proprietary Lm-based antigen delivery product for patients with more common cancers. Ayala President and Chief Executive Officer Ken Berlin said the addition of BST-236 provides Ayala with an additional avenue to develop a key clinical catalyst.

3. Privatise, Cybersecurity Startup

On July 26, 2023, Coro, a modern cybersecurity platform for the mid-market, announced the acquisition of Privatise, an Israeli provider of cybersecurity solutions for offices and remote work.

As the edge of the network continues to expand, analyst firm Gartner predicts that by 2025, 80% of enterprises will adopt a strategy of using SASE/SSE architecture to unify access to Web, cloud services, and private applications. The challenge for mid-market businesses (with lean IT teams, limited budgets, and little cybersecurity expertise) is managing the cost and complexity often associated with SASE implementations.

The acquisition adds key SASE capabilities to Coro's all-in-one platform, and with Privatise's SASE capabilities, Coro becomes the first cybersecurity product to deliver cloud-native, seamless and secure access to applications and resources.

4. Imperva, Cyber Security

On July 25, 2023, French aerospace and defense electronics group Thales (Euronext Paris: HO) announced that it has reached an agreement with investment firm Thoma Bravo to acquire 100% of data and application cybersecurity company Imperva in a deal valued at $3.6 billion. Thoma Bravo bought Imperva for $2.1 billion in 2018. The transaction is expected to close in early 2024, following customary antitrust and regulatory approvals.

Imperva provides network security solutions that protect business-critical data and applications-whether in the cloud, on-premises, or hybrid environments-and proactively identify, assess, and eliminate current and emerging threats to critical workloads.

5. Nuance Hearing, Hearing aid technology company

On July 25, 2023, the Italian-French eyewear company EssilorLuxottica, the world's largest eyewear group (manufacturer of Oakley and Ray-Ban sunglasses), announced its entry into the hearing aid market through the acquisition of Israeli startup Nuance Hearing. The transaction, which was completed in late 2022, was not disclosed until recently, with market estimates in the tens of millions of dollars.

Based in Tel Aviv, Nuance Hearing develops devices that reduce background noise and distractions, allowing people to hear better during conversations in loud environments.

EssilorLuxottica was formed from the €50 billion merger of eyewear group Luxottica and French lens maker Essilor in 2017. EssilorLuxottica plans to embed lenses with Nuance's acoustic beamforming technology, making the audio components completely invisible, which will remove long-standing psychological barriers to consumer adoption of traditional hearing aids. The glasses are expected to launch in the second half of 2024.

6. Syqe Medical, Medical Marijuana Inhaler

On July 18, 2023, international tobacco giant Philip Morris International is acquiring Israeli company Syqe Medical. Calcalist reported, official terms of the deal have not been disclosed.

Founded in 2011, Syqe holds around 120 patents for a metered dose pharmaceutical-grade inhaler whose main innovation is the use of raw inflorescences of the cannabis plant, rather than processed products, and the ability to measure precise patient-specific inflorescences dose.

Philip Morris, best known for its Marlboro brand and one of the world's largest cigarette makers, invested $20 million in Syqe back in 2016. The deal will be conducted through Vectura, a subsidiary of Philip Morris, a British company that specializes in inhaler products used to deliver drugs. If approved, Philip Morris will buy the Syqe stock it does not already own, bringing the total price to $650 million.

7. SCADAfence, Network Security Solution Provider

On July 10, 2023, Honeywell (Nasdaq: HON) announced that it has agreed to acquire SCADAfence, and the transaction is expected to be completed in the second half of 2023.

SCADAfence is a leading Israeli provider of operational technology (OT) and Internet of Things (IoT) cybersecurity solutions for monitoring large-scale networks. SCADAfence's asset discovery, threat detection, and security governance capabilities are critical to industrial and building management cybersecurity programs.

In the industrial sector, cyberattacks on OT systems can be a significant cause of unplanned downtime, which is estimated to cost the industrial and critical infrastructure sectors more than $1 trillion in lost revenue.

The CADAfence portfolio will be integrated into the Honeywell Forge Cybersecurity+ suite within Honeywell Connected Enterprise, Honeywell's fast-growing software division with a strategic focus on digital, sustainability and OT cybersecurity SaaS products and solutions. The integration will enable Honeywell to provide an end-to-end enterprise OT cybersecurity solution for field managers, operations management and CISOs seeking enterprise security management and situational awareness.

8. Tadiran Telecom, Unified Communications and Collaboration Solutions

On July 10, 2023, supply chain and AI artificial intelligence solutions provider OMNIQ Corp. (NASDAQ: OMQS) announced that it has signed a definitive agreement to acquire Tadiran Telecom. The company will pay a total of $15.25 million for a 100% interest in Tadiran.

Tadiran Telecom is a Unified Communications and Collaboration (UC&C, Unified Communications and Collaboration) solution provider, develops, designs, manufactures and sells unified communications as a service solutions, the company provides cloud communications and contact center solutions based on messaging, video and voice platforms, focusing on highly secure and reliable connect.

OMNIQ Corp. provides computerized and machine vision image processing solutions that use patented and proprietary AI technologies to provide data collection, real-time surveillance and monitor. The company provides technologies and services that help customers safely and securely move people, assets and data across airports, warehouses, schools, national borders and many other applications and environments.

2023年7月投资以色列盘点

摘要:7 月,以色列共发生 41 个投资收购项目,已公开总额约为 41.9 亿美元;其中投资项目 33 个,已公开投资总额约 5.7 亿美元。被收购以色列公司包括: 开发人员云原生调试平台 Rookout、临床阶段制药公司 Biosight、网络安全初创公司 Privatise、网络安全公司 Imperva、助听器技术公司Nuance Hearing、医用大麻吸入器 SyqeMedical、网络安全解决方案供应商 SCADAfence、统一通信和协作解决方案 Tadiran Telecom

截至本月,中国 2023 年已参与投资的以色列项目有:基于人工智能的数字银行 One Zero,可视化资产管理平台 Hexa、教育游戏科技平台 TinyTap、交通管理平台 NoTraffic

本文均基于发布时市场公开数据。

2023年7月全球投资热度区域图谱

2023 年 7 月全球投资热度区域,美国以 1951 个投资和收购项目占据第一名,中国和英国分别以 286 和 276 个项目位列第二和第三。本文均基于发布时市场公开数据。

2023年7月以色列投资热门行业列表

2023 年 7 月以色列投资事件

2023 年 7 月,以色列共有 33 个获投项目。

热门行业集中在科学工程、软件、信息技术、医疗健康、生物科技、数据分析、硬件、隐私与安全、金融服务、人工智能。

跨境投资主要来自美国(15笔)、德国(2笔)、英国(1笔)、比利时(1笔)、法国(1笔)。

13 个以色列投资项目收到了源自本土的投资。

需要说明的是,其中部分投资项目源自于不同国家的多个投资人。

7月获得投资的以色列公司/机构

公司/机构名称 公司/机构简介
eToro 多资产投资平台
FeelBetter 医疗保健优化平台
Neurotrigger 改善面神经麻痹医疗设备(仿生眨眼系统)
Trustmi 端到端支付安全解决方案
NeoLogic (VLSI) 使用准CMOS 专利技术设计VISI
Adaptive Shield 帮助企业管理其 SaaS 堆栈的安全态势管理平台
Brevel 微藻替代蛋白技术公司
Agado 交互式视频平台
Oshi 植物性海鲜的食品科技公司
Steakholder Foods 3D打印人造肉技术
Terrific 社交电商平台
Elgan Pharma Ltd. 专注于新生儿学的公司(预防早产儿视力障碍技术)
Speak 语言学习移动应用程序 (带口音英语语音数据库)
Mehadrin Tnuport Export 果蔬供应商
BYND Cannasoft Enterprises 企业软件工具开发商
Evogene 计算生物学公司,农业生物技术性状开发
BrainStorm Cell Therapeutics 开发创新自体干细胞疗法的生物科技公司
K Health 人工智能医疗保健应用
Galmed Pharmaceuticals 治疗肝脏、代谢和炎症疾病的临床阶段药物开发公司
Predicta Med 基于人工智能的自身免疫性疾病早期检测和干预
NitroFix 零排放、低成本氨开发商
Vendict 掌握安全合规语言的人工智能
Re-Fresh Global 纺织品循环经济解决方案
Savvy 网络安全公司
Eco Wave Power EWP 波浪能设备
Cyborgcare 智能可穿戴设备
HyperGuest Ltd. 酒店技术平台
VBI Vaccines 扩大疫苗保护规模的生物制药技术公司
Ann-Education 智能电子阅读器
RoboDeck 户外甲板清洁机器人
Lemonade 人工智能数字保险公司
Munch 社交媒体Saas平台

2023 年 7 月以色列收购事件

1. Rookout 开发人员云原生调试平台

2023年 7 月 31 日,可观测性和安全平台 Dynatrace 宣布计划收购可观测性初创公司 Rookout。交易预计在9月底完成,交易金额尚未披露。

Rookout 位于以色列特拉维夫,专注于帮助开发人员在生产中排除和调试代码,使开发人员能够快速排除和调试 Kubernetes(开源容器集群管理系统)托管的云原生应用程序中正在运行的代码。

开发人员越来越有责任确保整个软件生命周期中代码的质量和安全性。Dynatrace认为将 Rookout 添加到 Dynatrace 平台,将为开发人员提供增强的 Kubernetes 托管生产环境的代码级可观察性,还将增加生产中故障排除和调试的交互性和控制力,大大减少在预生产环境中复制问题的需要,并改善开发、IT 和安全团队之间的协作。

2. Biosight 临床阶段制药公司

2023 年 7 月 27 日,Ayala Pharmaceuticals, Inc.(OTCQX:ADXS)和临床阶段制药公司 Biosight 宣布已签订最终合并协议,通过全股票交易合并。合并后的公司将以 Ayala Pharmaceuticals 的名称运营,并将继续以 Ayala 当前的股票代码ADXS 在 OTCQX 上进行交易。

合并后的公司将致力于推进肿瘤学资产组合,主要关注 Ayala 的 AL102(一种每日一次的强效、选择性、口服 γ 分泌酶抑制剂 (GSI) 和 Biosight 的 Aspacytarabine (BST-236)。

Biosight 致力于开发血液恶性肿瘤和疾病的创新疗法,其主导产品 aspacytarabine (BST-236) 是一种创新的专有抗代谢药物,旨在通过实现高剂量化疗并降低全身毒性来满足医疗需求。

Ayala Pharmaceuticals 是一家临床阶段的肿瘤公司,主要致力于为罕见肿瘤和侵袭性癌症患者开发和商业化小分子疗法,同时也在为患有更常见癌症的患者开发专有的基于 Lm 的抗原递送产品。Ayala 总裁兼首席执行官 Ken Berlin 表示,BST-236 的加入为 Ayala 提供了开发关键临床催化剂的额外途径。

3. Privatise 网络安全初创公司

2023 年 7 月 26 日,面向中端市场的现代网络安全平台 Coro 宣布收购 Privatise,一家为办公室和远程工作提供网络安全解决方案的以色列供应商。

随着网络边缘不断扩大,分析机构 Gartner 预测,到 2025 年 80% 的企业将采用使用SASE/SSE架构来统一Web、云服务和私有应用程序访问的策略。中型市场企业(拥有精简的 IT 团队、有限的预算且几乎没有网络安全专业知识)面临的挑战是管理通常与 SASE 实施相关的成本和复杂性。

此次收购为 Coro 的一体化平台增加了关键的 SASE 功能,凭借 Privatise 的 SASE 功能,Coro 成为第一个提供云原生、无缝且安全的应用程序和资源访问的网络安全产品。

4. Imperva 网络安全公司

2023 年 7 月 25 日,法国航空航天和国防电子集团 Thales (Euronext Paris: HO) 宣布已与投资公司 Thoma Bravo 达成协议,将以价值 36 亿美元的交易收购数据和应用网络安全公司 Imperva 100% 的股权。Thoma Bravo 曾于 2018 年以 21亿美元收购 Imperva。该交易预计将于 2024 年初完成惯例反垄断和监管审批后完成。

Imperva 提供保护关键业务数据(无论是在云中、本地还是混合环境中)和应用程序的网络安全解决方案,能够主动识别、评估和消除对关键工作负载的当前和新兴威胁。

5. Nuance Hearing 助听器公司

2023 年 7 月 25 日,全球最大的眼镜集团(Oakley和Ray-Ban太阳镜制造商)意大利-法国眼镜公司 EssilorLuxottica 宣布通过收购以色列初创公司 Nuance Hearing 进军助听器市场。该交易已于 2022 年底完成,直到近期透露,交易金额尚未披露,市场估计金额为数千万美元。

Nuance Hearing 总部位于特拉维夫,开发了可以减少背景噪音和干扰的设备,使人们得以在嘈杂环境的谈话中听得更清楚。

EssilorLuxottica 是由眼镜集团 Luxottica 和法国镜片制造商 Essilor 于 2017 年以 500 亿欧元合并而成。EssilorLuxottica 计划嵌入 Nuance 声波束形成技术的镜片,音频组件将完全隐形,这将消除消费者长期以来采用传统助听器的心理障碍。眼镜预计于 2024 年下半年推出。

6. Syqe Medical 医用大麻吸入器

2023 年 7 月 18 日,据 Calcalist 报道,国际烟草巨头菲利普莫里斯(Philip Morris International)正在收购以色列公司 Syqe Medical,交易的官方条款尚未披露。

Syqe 于 2011 年创立,拥有约 120 项专利,主要产品是一种计量药物级吸入器,吸入器的主要创新是使用大麻植物的原始花序,而不是其加工产品,并且能够测量针对患者的精确剂量。

菲利普莫里斯公司以其万宝路品牌而闻名,是全球最大的卷烟制造商之一,早在 2016 年就向 Syqe 投资了 2000 万美元。本次交易将通过菲利普莫里斯公司的子公司 Vectura 进行,Vectura 是一家专门生产用于输送药物的吸入器产品的英国公司。如果Syqe的吸入器在临床试验后获得美国食品和药物管理局的批准,菲利普莫里斯公司将购买其尚未持有的 Syqe 股票,使总价达到 6.5 亿美元。

7. SCADAfence 网络安全解决方案供应商

2023 年 7 月 10 日,霍尼韦尔(Honeywell,Nasdaq:HON)宣布已同意收购 SCADAfence,交易预计将于 2023 年下半年完成。

SCADAfence 是以色列一家领先的运营技术 (OT) 和物联网 (IoT) 网络安全解决方案提供商,用于监控大型规模网络。SCADAfence 的资产发现、威胁检测和安全治理方面的功能对于工业和建筑管理网络安全计划至关重要。

在工业领域,针对 OT 系统的网络攻击可能是意外停机的一个重要原因,据估计,意外停机会给工业和关键基础设施部门带来超过一万亿美元的收入损失。

CADAfence 产品组合将集成 Honeywell Connected Enterprise 内的 Honeywell Forge Cybersecurity+ 套件中,这是霍尼韦尔快速发展的软件部门,其战略重点是数字化、可持续发展和 OT 网络安全 SaaS 产品和解决方案。此次集成将使霍尼韦尔能够为寻求企业安全管理和态势感知的现场经理、运营管理层和 CISO 提供端到端企业 OT 网络安全解决方案。

8. Tadiran Telecom 统一通信和协作解决方案

2023 年 7 月 10 日,供应链和 AI 人工智能解决方案供应商 OMNIQ Corp.(NASDAQ:OMQS)宣布已签署收购 Tadiran Telecom 的最终协议。公司将支付总计 1525 万美元购买 Tadiran 100% 的股权。

Tadiran Telecom 是一家统一通信和协作 (UC&C,Unified Communications and Collaboration) 解决方案提供商,开发、设计、制造和销售统一通信即服务解决方案,公司提供基于消息、视频和语音平台的云通信和联络中心解决方案,专注于高度安全和可靠的连接。

OMNIQ Corp. 提供计算机化和机器视觉图像处理解决方案,该解决方案使用专利和专有 AI 技术为供应链管理、国土安全、公共安全、交通和停车管理以及访问控制应用提供数据收集、实时监视和监控。

Smart Match 跨境智能匹配数据分析